How Turkish sounds to you?

Yelena   Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:39 pm GMT
Im a Swedish citizen of Russian origin girl, and im currently studying Turkish language at school, and it sounds like the Finnish language that Finnish students speak in my class... I've been to Istanbul twice in my lifetime and experienced the Turkish language.But many people think that Turkish sounds more like Hungarian rather than Finnish...what do you think?
Guest   Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:55 pm GMT
Turkish sounds very, very, very... very different from Finnish or Hungarian. Hungarian and Finnish sound alike but different.
Gerhard   Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:38 pm GMT
Turkish sounds to me, sometimes like Hungarian, sometimes like Armenian, and in the most part of the time, like Iranian, Azerbaidjan and Afganistan...
Alexandria   Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:29 pm GMT
I have a Turkish friend and out of all the languages I have heard, I would say Farsi aka Persian. I don't think Turkish sounds like Finnish, maybe a bit Hungarian but I really haven't heard the 2 enough to judge.
Skippy   Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:36 am GMT
It sounds to me like Hungarian... But I don't speak either language, so I suppose I'm not really qualified to answer.
Guest   Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:34 am GMT
All those middle eastern languages sound the same.
Minällestä   Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:44 pm GMT
Turkish is not a middle eastern language you stupid... And it has no roots related to Middle Eastern languages, neither to Hebrew nor to Arabic. Turkish doesnt have guttural voices like "gh" or "r" that even exists in Dutch and French...
Skippy   Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:11 pm GMT
Technically, Turkish is a "Middle Eastern" language, as Turkey (or at least most of it) is part of the Middle East, just like Hungarian or Basque are European languages, just not Indo-European languages.

Just because it is not related to Arabic does not disqualify it as a "Middle Eastern" language, as Farsi or Dari are Indo-European languages.
PARISIEN   Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:05 pm GMT