Learning Russian

lansing   Fri Jun 06, 2008 3:18 am GMT
I've wanted to learn Russian, but have been scared away (so far) by the (apparent) difficulties, especially pronunciation and grammar. Has anyone (especially English speakers) had success studying it? (Or a similar Slavic language.)

If so, can you study it like the antimoon folks recommend--lot's of 'comprehensible input' (listening and reading), and little or no overt grammar study? Or does this only work for languages like English or Swedish which have less complicated grammars?
Skippy   Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:20 am GMT
My impression, from my little experience with Russian, is that it is relatively simple to learn at an effective reading level, it's only when it comes to speaking does it get a little complicated.

Other thoughts.
Xie   Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:21 am GMT
I have no experience, but I can see that the declension tables aren't that bad. They're just more than German declensions and French conjugations combined... by input I refer to the need to get used to the word forms (chiefly declensions in your case), while paying attention to exceptions (exceptions prove the rule) which often outnumber rules. I'd treat exceptions as new vocab, i.e. to consider them separate words.
Guest   Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:32 am GMT
Don't be afraid of it, I'm a native English speaker and I've been learning Russian for about 4 years now and I am fairly competent. I found it to be no more difficult that French in the long run (if it seems bad at the beginning, just keep at it)... Now it turns out I can speak it better than French too.
oleole   Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:44 pm GMT