Sanskrit, Latin, and Greek

Skippy   Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:37 am GMT
Naturally all their derivative languages are incomprehensible across language families, but I'm wondering what the difficulty may have been for a speaker of one to learn the others... Naturally, I'd assume Greek and Latin would be easier with similar pronouns, declensions, etc. but I know nothing about Sanskrit. Thanks.
Guest   Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:01 pm GMT
I studied both Latin (in high school) and Greek (at University) and I've tried also to learn some Sanskrit on my own.

>>Naturally, I'd assume Greek and Latin would be easier with similar pronouns, declensions, etc. but I know nothing about Sanskrit.

Surprisingly, similar pronouns, declensions, etc. I found mainly not between Latin an Greek but between Latin and Sanskrit (it seems that on average Latin is more archaic than Greek). But all of them have some easy to spot similarities.
It's a common conception that Greek is way harder than Latin but for me it was quite easy. At least word order is easier than in Latin. Greek is quite interesting and has some similarities with German. Latin vocabulary is hard to learn even for Romance speakers (like me) because each Romance language inherited no more than some 2000 basic Latin words.
As for difficulty I think Greek and Latin quite are similar.