Is this Romanian?

Guest   Sat Jul 12, 2008 10:13 pm GMT
Maybe Romanian is closer to Classic Latin, but not to Vulgar Latin.

>>>>I am the one who posted this and I am from North America -- I studied Latin in 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, and 11th grades -- thanks a lot. To someone who has probably studied Latin for more years than many or most of you posting here (and also was paid by my school to tutor other students in Latin), Romanian startlingly resembles Latin. I was shocked somewhat because I had never seen it without its weird accent marks before.<<<<

The startling part is that you actually studied Latin all those years and know nothing about Romance languages, or how it evolved.
In that situation, and if I were you, I wouldn't be so quick to advertise my own skills.
Guest   Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:35 pm GMT
>>Maybe Romanian is closer to Classic Latin, but not to Vulgar Latin.<<

How? Please explain. Classical Latin was NEVER in daily use; be that, that plebeians never spoke Classical Latin but Vulgar Latin. Classical Latin was only a language in writting used by the Roman elite.
Guest   Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:18 am GMT
>>How? Please explain. Classical Latin was NEVER in daily use; be that, that plebeians never spoke Classical Latin but Vulgar Latin. Classical Latin was only a language in writting used by the Roman elite. <<

Many Romanian words, unlike other Romance languages, descend from Classical Latin, and not Vulgar Latin, especially their meanings.
Probably because Romania was independent sooner from the Roman Empire.

As you may or not know, who decides/ controls the language "rules" and grammar is the elite or educated people, not the plebeians. It doesn't matter if Classical Latin was never used daily.
Guest   Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:40 am GMT
>>>Many Romanian words, unlike other Romance languages, descend from Classical Latin, and not Vulgar Latin, especially their meanings.
Probably because Romania was independent sooner from the Roman Empire.<<<