French? Italian? Spanish? German? Arabic?

Tâi-Oân-Lâng   Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:56 am GMT
Hello, everybody. I'm a native Taiwanese, I speak Mandarin as native language, and my major is English, my 2nd foreign lang. is Japanese, actually I've always wanted to learn a 3rd foreign lang. on my own, but as for me, it's really a toss-up about which language should I choose to learn among German, French, Italian, Spanish, Arabic, in fact, I love either of them, but I don't have abundant energy or sufficient time to learn them all, even if in proper sequence, and I have to keep improving my English & Japanese continuously. Therefore, I'm afraid that I'll only be able to learn a 3rd foreign lang. (Not 4th, 5th, any more) in future. And I haven't got any detailed plans such as going abroad for further study or settling down there, in this case, Which one should I learn then? OK, would anybody like to give me some advice on this question? Thank you very much!

Native: Mandarin

1st: English
2nd: Japanese
3rd: ?
4th: ?
5th: ?

Please rank a list of languages like above manner. Thanks again!
Guest   Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:45 am GMT
1. Russian.
Guest   Wed Aug 13, 2008 7:49 am GMT
Depends on what you are learning it for. Pleasure or business?
Guest   Wed Aug 13, 2008 7:51 am GMT
Russian is an excellent choice.
Guest   Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:58 am GMT
For business, French is an excellent choice. For love (for me at least), Italian is a great one to choose. Then again, it all depends on what you are learning it for. Just choose the one you know you will enjoy learning. We all have different tastes.
Guest   Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:16 am GMT
It depends on several things: business or pleasure.

I give you the top 5 languages to consider which one you prefer:

1. Speakers (native): Chinese, Spanish, English, Hindi and Arabic

2. Economic power: English, Chinese, Japanese, Spanish and German

3. Internet users: English, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese and French