Learning Spanish After French

Ace   Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:10 am GMT
After getting pretty fluent in French, how long do you think it would take someone to get pretty good in Spanish? Anyone actually did this before?
Guest   Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:40 pm GMT
I'm sure people have done this before. I suppose it would take a good while to become fluent in Spanish.
Ace   Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:59 pm GMT
I meant anyone on this board ever done this before. I've always heard Spanish is a bit easier than French so that's why I'm wondering if the time to get fluent in Spanish would be quicker if French is learned first.
Guest   Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:42 pm GMT
not a bit, but a lot :)
E1Ler   Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:50 pm GMT
All things considered, I don't think Spanish is easier than French -- I'd say they are about the same difficulty for an E1Ler. I studied French first (but didn't learn all that much, in terms of fluency), and then studied Spanish later (and still didn't learn all that much).

If you learn French first, it gives you a head start with Spanish, but there's still a whole lot to learn.
Ace   Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:20 pm GMT
<<If you learn French first, it gives you a head start with Spanish, but there's still a whole lot to learn.>>

Perhaps learning them simultaneously would be a better option? It'd be tricky since they're both so similar in vocabulary and maybe grammar.
Guest   Sat Oct 04, 2008 11:38 pm GMT
learning italian and spanish at the same time will definitely kill you.
K. T.   Sun Oct 05, 2008 5:02 pm GMT
If you know French very well, it won't be hard to learn Spanish or even Italian. You'll need to remember to watch where you place the stress on cognates (like "difficult" which has different stress in French and Spanish), be careful with accents on common words like the second person singular "you" which has an accent in Spanish, but not in French and which has a different "u" sound as well, so that you won't speak French-sounding Spanish.