Any advice for Russian?

mac   Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:54 am GMT
I decided to start studying Russian. I'm starting a once a week class and using a workbook that is introducing me to the basics. I'm very new to it so that's why I'm asking for any advice, such as common problems people encounter with this language. So far I like how it sounds and find it interesting, so I hope I can stick with it.
Guest   Fri Oct 03, 2008 6:07 am GMT
Yes. Learn something else. Spanish or even French would be much easier and useful.
L-Marie   Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:31 pm GMT
Don't want to dissapoint you, mac, but I've never seen any Russian lanquage learner who sounded at least in some moments like a native. It seems our language has too many irregularities in gramma and collocations. As for phonetics, to my mind, the main point is the tongue position. The tip of your tongue should always look down when you pronounce consonants.

Anyway, I strongly believe that learning Russian is very rewarding. If you are able to read books in origin, you'll benefit a lot. After I learned English enough to read literature, I got really disappointed in many translations of many mordern and classical english books. As far as I know, Russian books in general have inadequate translations to English (I don't know about other lanquages).
mac   Fri Oct 03, 2008 6:11 pm GMT
Ouch! Not very encouraging. My other language that I know is Spanish and I have looked into French and German, which I know would be easier, but I really don't see how they would be more useful nowadays. About every French or German person I've met has always immediatedly spoke to me in English...so I don't know about that. On the other hand I hear that many Russians don't know English and there are more Russians than Germans or French natives (not including Africa).