Start learning English in your thirties

Randy   Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:26 am GMT
Hello everybody!

I started learning English seriously when I was 28 years old. Since I came through this website I've been following its advice. However, I sometimes wonder if it is possible to learn to speak English very well at this age. Now I'm 29 years old. When I was studying in high school I took English classes for 5 years but I learned very little because my teachers didn't encourage me to learn it.

Nowadays there are plenty of job opportunities to get a good job in my country if you speak English well, mainly in call centers. Although you have to speak it with fluency, otherwise you won't be hired. This isn't the only reason I want to improve my English, it is because I've loved the language since I was a child!
Guest   Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:19 am GMT
Dude you write flawless English so what's the problem?
Guest   Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:21 am GMT
There is a will then there is a way. You will speak English very well if you have strong motivation to learn the language on a daily basis.
Non-Slav   Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:13 pm GMT
You're definitely not too old to learn a foreign language. You've proved this already: your written English is excellent.

The only thing you probably won't achieve at your age is a native sounding accent and a native type of intuition. Only young children can acquire those, but don't worry - we're all in the same boat.
Guest   Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:27 pm GMT
Non-Slav got it!
Kismet   Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:44 pm GMT
I began in my 40s.
Randy   Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:37 pm GMT
Thanks for the encouragement -it's really nice to hear! When I was a child I didn't realize what fun is to learn English if you do the right things. Now I've found something, the most you understand English, the most you'll want to learn it. Have a great day (or night - I have no idea what time it is where you are!
Randy   Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:56 pm GMT