What's with British people and American accents?!

Donna   Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:20 am GMT
Hey,

I'm studying English and I sound very American (Midwestern-Californian).
When I voice chat with British people, I always get weird comments.
They do say that my spoken English is fine but they seem to burst out laughing for no reason or they tend to mimic me/ say weird things like "so are you really French, because you don't sound French at all, you just sound American. Do you have an American accent in French haha?"
They also pick up on my vocabulary, that's maybe a bit awesome-like-you know-loaded, but not that much!

Does the American accent, especially the Californian one, sound funny to British people?
Another Guest   Fri Oct 31, 2008 4:10 am GMT
I'm sure it does. Foreign people with British accents sound funny to me, especially if they're from places where I wouldn't expect it (such as Mexico). It's an understandable reaction, but it's not so understandable that they would be so public about it. To get an idea what it's like, imagine that the British people were speaking to you in French with a weird accent (such as Quebec). As much as people might rationally know that there are other accents, they still think of theirs as the "right" one, and expect anyone learning the language to learn the "real" language rather than a fake version.
Damian in Edinburgh   Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:48 am GMT
***Does the American accent, especially the Californian one, sound funny to British people?***

It depends on how you define the word "funny" before a definitive answer can be given on this one. You mention California - isn't that where the so called Valley Girl accent originated? If so then all I can say is: "Say no more!" In a word - dreich, as we say in Scotland.

In general though the majority of Brits don't look all that favourably on the American accent as a whole, I'm sorry to tell you - at least those of them with any opinion at all, that is.