Native French speaker&English accent in French, why?

Jessica   Fri Nov 07, 2008 2:47 pm GMT
Hello,

I'm a native French speaker and I've been learning English for quite a few years now.
I've never been to an English-speaking country but I try to listen to as much English as possible.
I'd like to become an interpreter in a few years and that's my spoken French has to be in pristine condition.

I posted an audio file on a languages board to get comments (I didn't say anything about me, so the answers just can't be biased) and 1 out of 2 people said I sounded English in French. They weren't sure whether I had an American or British accent but they were categoric and said I just couldn't be a native French speaker.
Apparently, I butcher my rs and put the stress on the second syllable and other things too, but I listened to my recording and I just can't put the finger on the mistakes I made. I just don't hear them.
I don't sound native in English either, although people don't say I sound French either in English (the last comments I had were "you sound a bit Swedish - I never learned Swedish, go figure.)

What would you do? I mean, several people can't lie.
How is this possible, and do you think I could lose such an accent?

Thank you.
Janice   Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:48 am GMT
Because of background
Jessica   Sat Nov 08, 2008 9:17 pm GMT
Thanks for the answer, but that doesn't explain how I could get rid of that accent.
Zeu ou ?   Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:35 am GMT
I can't hear anything so I won't comment
Hederson   Mon Nov 17, 2008 2:53 am GMT