Motivation for learning languages

J.C.   Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:58 am GMT
Seeing so many people enthusiastic about languages makes me wonder what led them to leave the comfort zone of speaking only one's native language and learn another.

As for me, I started learning the following languages because:

1) English because I hated to read subtitles or read those horribly dubbed movies.

2) German because the grandmother of a friend of mine told me about the beauty of the German language, which led me to get a minor in German.

3) Japanese because I started learning Judo at 12 and wanted to know what the techniques meant like "seoe nage", "kata guruma", etc. Because of that I decided to study Japanese in college.

4) Chinese because I wanted to know the origin of the characters used in Japanese

5) Korean because I wanted to know how close Japanese and Korean are

6) Italian because there are free courses on TV in Japan and Italian
sounds very nice

7) French also because courses are offered on TV in Japan and I wanted to read "Les Misérables" in the priginal

8) Dutch because I wanted to read Anne Frank's diary in the original after I read it in German

9) Polish because I had a penfriend from Poland during high school and got interested in the language. I took a 6 months intensive course in college in 1993 but forgot it almost completely

10) Russian because I wanted to learn another slavic language after learning Polish and also because I didn't have much to do when I got to Japan in 1998. I can still read the Cyrillic alphabet but don't remember much of the language.

11) Hebrew because I wanted to read the old testament in the original and learned the basics to be able to use a dictionary to be able to read the "torah".