What YOU learn first

Zinken/ Zonk/Gezonken   Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:17 am GMT
I was looking at some videos of Moses, a Chinese major who likes to learn languages that are not studied as often. One of the first things he likes to learn is how to introduce himself in the language.

The Teach Yourself Series does this in the first lesson or so (in the languages I've seen), but some books for people teaching themselves languages don't do this.

What do you like to learn first?

a. How to introduce yourself, your hobbies, etc.
b. How to order in a restaurant, buy tickets
c. Get an overview of the grammar
d. Get a look at the writing system, the sound system of the language
e. Other (please explain)
J.C.   Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:20 am GMT
I guess I'd pick d. since I can't learn anything in the language I'm studying
if I can't make sure people will understand me. I paid special attention to this when I started learning Chinese since one mistake can be lethal!! :D

Can you share some links with this guy Moses?

Cheers!!!
Sarmackie   Tue Jan 13, 2009 3:02 pm GMT
I like to know the grammar. I have a hard time approaching the language the way that some people do, where they learn it like 'If I want to say this, I need to say it like this'. Instead, I need to learn it as 'If I want to say this, I need to put it into this case/declension/gender/mood/etc. and that looks like this'. I guess that for me, rather than knowing how to do something with a language, I like to know why I'm doing it.
the old way   Tue Jan 13, 2009 3:09 pm GMT
Grammar, grammar and more grammar.
Xie   Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:08 pm GMT
I think it's d for me.

What Moses says makes sense. Unless you'll stop at a learning stage permanently for limited purposes of the language, whenever you aim at some normal oral fluency with living people (that means it must be a modern language with native speakers, normally also with the media that attract you), it seems it makes sense that you'll have to aim at... learning everything.