Sample of my accent. How do I get rid of it?

Roger   Wed Dec 14, 2005 9:53 am GMT
Ben thanks for sharing these beautiful tapes with us. You really speak nicely. As I'm not an expert in the field I can't comment on it. You simply sound pleasant.

I’d like to make my own recording as well. But before that, can you explain the excerpt from that Charles Dickens’ passage which I find a bit hard to understand. Here it is:

“I thought her more like him than ever I had thought her; and I felt, rather than saw, that the resemblance was not lost on my companion.”

Is this -- It was when I was passing by her on the staircase that I realized the resemblance between her and him was now even more noticeable than ever. Is it the correct interpretation? And who is this companion? Is this person (on whom the resemblance was not lost) a female or male? Thanks in advance.
Ben   Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:20 pm GMT
Roger, yeh that's basically how I'd interpret it aswell, but obviously you'd never hear that from a person in normal every day life - quite a lot of natives would have to think twice about what was being said. ;)

If anybody else has any other texts that they're having trouble pronouncing etc. then I'd be glad to help. I'll try to get any done before Friday because I'm going abroad early on Saturday morning.

Ben.
César   Wed Dec 14, 2005 3:09 pm GMT
"When I passed her on the staircase, as I was going down to breakfast, I thought her more like him than ever I had thought her; and I felt, rather than saw, that the resemblance was not lost on my companion. Then, I dressed myself for the dinner party, and was off"

My humble comments, bro...

1. Word linking: very good work! Most people tend to pause a lot because they still think in their native language, or they're not used to speak frequently.