English voice talents wanted

Damian in Edinburgh   Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:40 am GMT
Wingyellow:

I am sorry if I upset you but this is the internet after all - and even though Antimoon is normally a civilised and well conducted forum it is open to all and sundry with no regulating identity checks I was naturally dubious about your authenticity.

Perhaps you should have worded your initial "job ad" differently to include clearly defined reasons for the stated conditions and requirements and thus avoiding any possible accusations of discrimination. There is very little chance that such an advertisement would have been permitted in a "Jobs" slot in any British medium, especially in your case when you really should have mentioned that your target audience was made up of young children.

Those "offensive"* posts following my earlier post didn't offend me one bit - believe me I have encountered much worse! ;-) In fact I enjoyed them. I'm a journalist for one thing and rasing hackles is my stock in trade.

I hope you get swamped with applications....good luck. Sadly I will refrain from applying as I am more than fully occupied in my present occupation here in the UK.
wargz   Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:54 am GMT
<<Perhaps you should have worded your initial "job ad" differently to include clearly defined reasons for the stated conditions and requirements and thus avoiding any possible accusations of discrimination. There is very little chance that such an advertisement would have been permitted in a "Jobs" slot in any British medium, especially in your case when you really should have mentioned that your target audience was made up of young children. >>

Are you serious? Is Britain really that anal? I mean, can you not put in the ads that, say, you're looking for a "young, brown-haired male actor" or a "voice actor with a deep, resonant voice"? Would that be considered discriminatory? Wow, no wonder they say the west is doomed.
Damian in Edinburgh   Fri Apr 03, 2009 3:43 pm GMT