Why are Romance languages like Spanish are so weird?

K. T.   Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:42 pm GMT
I don't know that Greek was the only source for gender, but if you look at certain words whose gender seems "wrong" in Spanish, for example, you should consider whether the word was originally Greek or not.
K. T.   Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:15 pm GMT
If you look up "Why does Greek have gender" on google, the first hit is an overview of Greek grammar with some comparison of English, Spanish, Modern and Ancient Greek.

It is not my source for my opinion, but it is easy to read (I skimmed it) and interesting for people who are interested in English, Greek, Spanish, and Greek.

I still maintain that people should learn Greek if they are really interested in understanding IE languages. If I had learned Greek first, many things in other languages would have fallen like candy into my mouth.

I'm still a beginner in Greek and it is a fascinating language, very very familiar, easy to pronounce, etc.
ffd   Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:21 pm GMT
Strange because to me languages without genders are weird to me.
CommonAswhole   Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:37 pm GMT
Are there other IE-languages other than English and Afrikaans without genders? I'm wondering.
google_my_name   Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:45 am GMT
<<<<<Are there other IE-languages other than English and Afrikaans without genders? I'm wondering. >>>>>>

There many Indo-Aryan languages like Bengali (my native language) and Assamese that do not have gender nouns. Persian and other Iranian languages do not have gender nouns also.
CommonAswhole   Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:49 am GMT
Yeah, I googled the Bengali and the Persian part. Always happens when people type out questions, the idea of googling it comes to mind. ;) But it's interesting to see these things sumarized in a topic anyway.
google_my_name   Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:37 am GMT