The difference between the Italian and the spanish?

fei   Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:23 pm GMT
I am now studying Italian,and some people told me that some of the grammar are different,so What's the difference between the Italian and the spanish?
Can Italian omit the word "che" ,when they link two sentences?
kutya   Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:45 pm GMT
I know Italian and Spanish ( Portuguese, French and other languages as well) and I'd say that the two languages are quite similar but from a grammatical point of view they possess some basic and peculiar differences. On the whole, it seems to me that the Italian grammar is a bit more complicated but it's just an opinion that I'll try to explain:
ITALIAN
Both definite articles and undetermine articles are a bit trickier in Italian than in Spanish. Besides Italian has got a partitive article like French.
Plurals are more complicated in Italian even though they're rather regular compared to other languages. Italian’s got some irregular plurals and some of them come from the Latin neuter (uovo - uovA / dito- ditA) egg, eggs / finger fingers. Some words even have two different plurals: braccio/ braccia/bracci arm/arms
The Italian language has two sets of prepositions: simple and contracted that are joined with articles. Moreover, the use of the prepositions is in Italian a bit more illogical than in Spanish.
Italian has some tricky pronominal particles such as : ci, vi, ve, ce, ne. Their usage is mainly idiomatic. These particles don't exist neither in Spanish nor in Portuguese.
As for the verbal system, the main difference is that Italian makes use of two different auxiliary verbs to form all compound tenses. Sometimes, the choice of the right auxiliary verb may be hard, even for an italian.