Why do non-native speakers overrate their English so much?

Some Yank   Wed May 27, 2009 11:05 pm GMT
What is wrong with this Robin Michael? To me he comes across as some kind of deluded half-brained pseudo-intellectual with very little grip of reality.
augle   Thu May 28, 2009 2:37 am GMT
I don't get why he posts lists of synonyms... It is odd to say the least. Does he think that we don't know how to use a thesaurus? There are numerous thesauruses on the internet which are easy to use and effective. I even have a high quality paper thesaurus which I am an expert at using.
Besides, he doesn't even list particularly interesting synonyms. Does he think we don't know these rather simple words like sensitive, insensitive, arrogant, touchy or edgy? They are rather standard words, hardly deserving of having a topic derailed for a discussion of them, I mean, if you don't know them, look in a dictionary. One of the rules of this site is "not to ask for the definitions of words when you can just open a dictionary". Apparently, Robin Michael hasn't read the rules.

Oh by the way, here are some exciting words, let's discuss them! I can post the detailed definitions if you want!

one

two

three

four

five

six

seven

Amazing words aren't they! Let's discuss them! Bye for now!
augle
Robin Michael   Thu May 28, 2009 3:54 am GMT
I would like to reply to 'Some Yank' who wrote:

"What is wrong with this Robin Michael? To me he comes across as some kind of deluded half-brained pseudo-intellectual with very little grip of reality."

When President Bush was in power, this was what people thought of American foreign policy.

"deluded half-brained pseudo-intellectual with very little grip of reality"

The doctrine of 'American Exceptionalism' gave Americans the right to torture other nationalities that they had seized in various countries around the world. "Some Yank" has got a lot to answer for. "Some Yank" has got a lot to live down.
Robin Michael   Thu May 28, 2009 3:59 am GMT