anonymous2   Thu Dec 15, 2005 8:14 pm GMT
What does this accent sound like?
http://static.uploadhut.com/upload/474845.mp3
254852   Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:35 pm GMT
South East Asian- maybe Vietnamese
anonymous2   Fri Dec 16, 2005 4:25 am GMT
Not even close...
anonymous2   Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:24 am GMT
I've never even been to Southeast Asia, but it doesn't really matter... My first language is Russian.

Actually, I'm a frustrated "one-and-a-half-lingual" who just can't get rid of the accent. I started learning English when I was 4, but I had virtually no exposure to native speech until I came to Montreal, Canada some 11 years later. In Russia, all English teachers pride themselves in mutilating the language left, right and center, and seem to be convinced that Runglish is "correct English", and most native speakers don't even know their own language...

The main problem is that my "language acquisition device" shut down smack in the middle of my learning process. Like most bilinguals, I never went through a stage when I had to memorize word lists and translate everything in my head, and I somehow managed to internalize basic grammar. For instance, unlike most of my relatives, I never skip articles; nor do I turn "He didn't go there" into "He didn't went there". But unlike real bilinguals, I'm a far cry from having mastered let alone internalized the English sound system, and the @*$# accent keeps getting in my way.

Many people, especially other nonnative speakers, have a lot of trouble understanding what I'm saying... When I tried asking my Canadian friends what I was saying wrong, many of them told me I had no foreign accent whatsoever... According to them, people have trouble understanding me because I get too nervous and what not...

Yeah, right...