"OALD 7" VS "LDOCE 5"

CK   Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:37 am GMT
1, Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary 7th

2, Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English 5th

Which is the winner? If you were I, how would you choose it?
biohazard   Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:22 am GMT
Longman is better than Oxford, though the latter is more famous than former.
CK   Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:31 am GMT
Nobody else would like to answer this question? Thanks!
LexicographyLover   Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:01 pm GMT
The OALD7 is a great package, certainly for students, but as a native speaker teacher I usually find myself going for my LDoCE4 first, because I like its strict ordering of everything but phrasal verbs by frequency, the presentation of the top 3000 words' frequencies in speech versus writing, and the generally greater snappiness and apparent authenticity of the Longman examples.

Doubtless the LDoCE5 will be an even better package (I have yet to buy it, but have been looking at the adverts) than the LDoCE4 was: it's expanded to over 230,000 words, phrases and meanings to become about the largest advanced learner's dictionary now available, and boasts a very interesting-sounding new feature called the Longman Vocabulary Trainer, which apparently 'tests your knowledge of a word – its meaning, grammar, collocation and usage – then remembers how well you know that word. The word is then recycled and retested at different intervals so the word is never forgotten!'.

So the winner in my opinion (even though I haven't seen it) has to be the LDoCE5, if only because the OALD7 is now three years old, and the LDoCE4 was the better dictionary even back then!
LexicographyLover   Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:39 pm GMT