how do we say "the" and "this" correctly

Liza   Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:38 pm GMT
I have been lerning english for 3 years, but it does not help!
I cannot say words like the and this
Larissa   Fri Dec 23, 2005 4:20 pm GMT
yeah these sounds are very hard to pronounce for Non-English speakers, i can't pronounce them either
Adam   Fri Dec 23, 2005 4:22 pm GMT
What about "these" and "them" and "those"?
Larissa   Fri Dec 23, 2005 4:26 pm GMT
Adam you're British?
betty   Fri Dec 23, 2005 9:19 pm GMT
Put the tip of your tongue between your teeth and pronounce "d" sound. These should make the sound you hear at the beginning of the given words.
Kirk   Sat Dec 24, 2005 1:08 am GMT
Yes, and remember what's spelled as <th> in English can either be a voiced sound or unvoiced one. Most commonly the voiced sounds are high-frequency "function words" (like <the> <this> <than> <either>, etc.), while most other normal words have the unvoiced sound (<author> <thin> <thing> <thief>, <bath>, etc.).

In IPA the voiced sound is marked /ð/ while the unvoiced one is marked as /θ/. In X-SAMPA those are /D/ and /T/, respectively.
Mxsmanic   Sun Dec 25, 2005 3:01 pm GMT
The English phoneme /ð/ is pronounced identically to /z/, except that you put the tip of your tongue very lightly just behind and between your teeth. The voiceless version /θ/ is identical to /s/, except for the same positioning of the tongue between and just behind the teeth.

Both of these sounds are very simple to pronounce; they are no more difficult than /s/ and /z/. However, there aren't many languages that use them, and so for most ESL students they are something quite new, and thus take longer to master. Still, just about all the ESL students I've encountered can pronounce these sounds perfectly in a few seconds once they are given correct and careful instructions on exactly how to produce them.