Advanced Learner's English Dictionaries?

Northern Chinese   Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:35 am GMT
I'm a newbie here, I hope you won't be fed up with my question about dictionaries.

1. Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary (7th Edition)
2. Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary (3rd Edition)
3. Collins Cobuild Advanced Dictionary (6th Edition)
4. Merriam-Webster's Advanced Learner's Dictionary (1st Edition)

At present, besides 2 English-Chinese dictionaries (Macmillan & Longman), I've already got the latest <Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English> (5th Edition) on hand, so I would like to get another excellent English-English advanced learner's dictionary.

Unluckily I'm still hesitating over which one to choose between the above 4. Actually, I've already read a comparative review of dictionaries for English learners, no doubt that's a good article, but I'm curious to know which is relatively the "so-called" best one. BTW, <Collins Cobuild Advanced Learner's English Dictionary> (5th Edition) is unexpectedly out of stock, perhaps out of print (unavailable), and the 6th edition has just come onto market in Mainland China.

Would you please talk me through choosing the right dictionary in detail? I'd appreciate it if you could make a suggestion for my hesitation. If possible, I'd particularly like to get to know which of the 2 (Collins Cobuild vs Merriam-Webster's) is a relatively excellent dictionary in terms of paper & printing quality, example sentences, vocabulary quantity, and accessibility scale. Any comments?

Please don't recommend the following series of dictionaries (primarily for native speakers or linguistic scholars).

1. American Heritage College Dictionary
2. Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
3. (New) Oxford Dictionary of English
4. Random House Webster's College Dictionary

Thank you very much for your infinite patience!
Xie   Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:38 am GMT