English Speaking people learning spanish.

daveyboy   Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:10 pm GMT
Hey guys.
I would just like to get some input back on my thoughts of English speaking people learning Spanish [ castellana ] why is it so hard to learn..? i have been learning it for over 2 years now, i can speak it, no where near fluent though, to tell you the truth i struggle to hold a decent conversation together. I live in madrid with my girlfriend [ she is spanish ] she also speaks English more or less fluent,. In the first year of living here [ yeah you guessed it ] we spoke in english, i know it was a bad mistake because now i am not much nearer to speaking it well at all..! I have a private teacher for 2 hours every saturday.. and during the week, i study on my own. The big problem i have is been able to speak more spanish than to understand spoken spanish, it is so so dificult trying to understand a native speaker, more so when he is talking like 200 miles an hour..!! i mite catch the buenos dias, que tal part and other words but most of what they say goes right over my head..! its very very frustrating. So for all you native english guys/girls or people from other countries that are fluent. How did you do it ? . I have read in a few places on the net that english people do struggle to learn/understand spanish.. then you have the romanians that come to spain,and learn it so fast [ 6-8 month ] and have no teacher, no books/audio or nothing, just listening and talking ..!!

Thanks for the tips/info in advance guys..cheers..!
Guest   Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:45 pm GMT
Maybe you have low IQ.
JM   Sat Nov 28, 2009 3:20 pm GMT
Let's see. Can you catch and 'speak' this?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W60ILCVLGzQ

if you can't you really need to go to basics with your teacher.
Franco   Sat Nov 28, 2009 3:59 pm GMT
David Beckham is not the best example as he lived in Spain but he never was really immersed in the Spanish society.
daveyboy   Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:07 pm GMT