BrE and AmE inevitably together?

It's me but I'm anonymous   Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:26 pm GMT
Suppose a learner can't really choose. There might be several reasons. For example, you might be more likely to go or move to the UK in the future, but you might be more likely to hear or read American English (in movies, books, etc). Also, you are going to hear or read both varieties anyway, and you can't predict when and how much you'll come into contact with one or the other. You know, you might read three American Books in a row, and then start to watch Britain's Got Talent regularly.
I think this situation actually applies to most ESL students. Those who study on their own and are self-taught can then choose: some British English or some General American English?

So the question is, can you really choose what to learn? In this case, it looks like you can't choose, because you really need both. If you need both, is it possible to learn to use both of them, and is that really worth it? And I think it'd be better to keep them separate, but how easy is that? Becoming bidialectal in a second language is definitely quite an achievement.

What I'm saying is that I will come across words and differences like:
On second thought/ On second thoughts (different idioms)
telly (different informal vocabulary)
truck / lorry (different common vocabulary)
dictionary = /dɪkʃənɛri/ - /dɪkʃənəri/ (different stress and phonemes)
teacher = /titʃər/ - /tɪitʃə/ (different sounds)
Manchester United is/are winning (different grammar)

You see, there are really a lot of differences. But if keeping two varieties separate is too difficult or not worth it, then should I mix them together? Should I come up with a new personal dialect? Like, with flexible grammar and rich vocabulary taken from both varieties, and an accent that has features of both AmE and BrE? I haven't tried, but I'm afraid it might come out awful...

What's your opinion on this issue? Thank you.
Guest   Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:28 pm GMT