Should I learn Spanish if already learning French?

Jordan   Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:58 pm GMT
I'm from the United States, and I'm a freshman in high school. I'm currently taking French I. I took Spanish A & B in middle school which is the equivalent of Spanish I. I hated Spanish. I think it was more the teacher and the class than it was the language. I'm absolutely in love with French, and I'm getting an A+ in the class. Recently I've been thinking about picking Spanish back up again. Not the class, but I have Spanish teaching CDs from Michel Thomas. Do you think that it would be wise to start learning again, or would it be not worth it and a waste of time?

(P.S. I'm in love with languages and language learning and I think I'd like to have a career in that field!)
memphis (not pemphigus)   Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:01 am GMT
If you're:

1) in the US

2) a language major and like foreign languages

3) already took some Spanish before

It seems like learning Spanish is a no-brainer.

I'm not a language major and I'm certainly not in love with foreign languages, but I always thought Spanish was structured a bit better than French, although no easier to learn, all things considered.
Emmanuel   Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:08 am GMT
I am assuming you are monolingual English speaker, so...I would advise you to wait some time if you plan to take up Spanish again. You might end up confusing words between French and Spanish here and there, and, since they're both Romance languages, they have a lot in common. If you do decide to take it up again, try to focus on one variety so as to not become confused. For instance, it will definitely throw you off if one resource tells you car is 'carro', whilst another one tells you it is 'coche'. (Just for the record, 'carro' means cart.) Anyhow, good luck on whatever you decide to do.

P.S. By saying you are 'in love with languages', are you thinking of learning any more perhaps? :)
a demotivator   Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:11 am GMT