Why are Germans among the worst speakers of English?

John   Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:49 pm GMT
The answer can be summed up with one word: arrogance.

Most (not all) Germans believe that English is a very simple language and have the attitude that there is little or nothing to learning, speaking or writing it - properly. They suffer under the delusion that their language is the hardest one in the world and that Anglophones are utterly incapable of learning it.

I have been speaking German fluently for over 20 years and use it on a daily basis.
Germans have the annoying and insulting habit of speaking to you in English if they think it's your native language. If I had 10 cents for every time I have had Germans suggest that we speak English "because it's easier" I would be rich. More often than not, when they do this it is usually an immediate sign that their English is awful.
Jens F.   Sat Mar 13, 2010 3:59 am GMT
Well,
i'm doing an high school exchange year right now (Wisconsin) and the more i hear myself talking, the more i realize that my english pronunciation is just awful. At my Highschool we also got a norwegian student, who speaks english better than most of our junior class students ^^
I think the biggest reason is that we don't need english in our daily lifes AND that people just didn't learn english at school back in the 70s or 80s than we do now.
I think we still do speak better than Spanish, French, Italian or Asian people, but i just know that from my experience.
The other thing is that our language is as different as it can get.
At example, very sometimes sounds like ferre, or simple like simpell, or th like ss.
If you go to Germany and speak to younger people that have an average education, you'll see that they don't speak english that bad (despite the terrible accent ^^)
Vinlander   Sat Mar 13, 2010 5:42 am GMT