Speaking English in Classroom

Vince   Wed Jan 20, 2010 7:17 am GMT
Hi! I'm a newbie here. I'm a 19-year-old Filipino, taking up Bachelor of Secondary Education major in English. I want to know ask how can I speak English in class without making mistakes. I'm not yet fluent in speaking English but my teachers force me to speak in our class. They're always say that speaking is the best way to learn the language.
Uriel   Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:36 am GMT
You are meant to make mistakes in class -- if you never made any mistakes you wouldn't need to be in one, right? But if your teachers can hear your mistakes in spoken English, they can correct them before they become habits, and you need the practice. It's usually a lot easier to write correctly (taking your time and puzzling out the right conjugations and word order) than it is to speak correctly and actually think on your feet -- they're like two different skills. Be glad for the opportunity.
Drew   Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:45 am GMT
Just ensure your teachers won't go easy on you. You won't know it if they let you develop bad habits. A good idea would be to conduct some anti-moon level input while you take the class, so you have a reference point to work from.
Vince   Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:55 am GMT
My teachers are not native speakers of English and some of my teachers aren't that good in speaking. They also have bad pronunciation.
Tom   Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:08 am GMT
Here's what I would do:

Find an English-speaking pal as soon as possible -- someone who understands the need to avoid mistakes. This can be another student.