Why does Dutch have a reputation of being difficult?

Brandie   Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:05 pm GMT
As a native speaker of English I had absolutely no difficulty in learning Dutch.
Over the years I have learned French, Spanish, German, and Dutch. I am currently studying Italian.
Yes, I have found that Dutch speakers aren't usually willing to communicate in their language with a foreigner. A Dutchman will refuse to speak in Dutch, while a Parisian will pretend they don't speak English. Or Parisians will play the "Je ne comprends pas" game. Parisians were not very helpful when I was trying to learn French.
On a recent trip to Amsterdam and The Hague I really didn't get to speak often in Dutch. Once in Amsterdam I asked directions from a man (I knew where I was going, but I really wanted to practice spoken Dutch) and he smiled and answered me in English.
As well Dutch people told me I spoke with a 'funny accent' and then wouldn't speak Dutch to me. My accent in French was never a question, and German speakers always thought I was Swiss, but Dutch speakers noticed it immediately. I was very surprised.
Germans would always brag to me about their knowledge of accents and try to tell me what part of Switzerland I was from. They'd never take it well when I told them I was Canadian.
But the Dutch always nailed it. They never bragged. Never claimed to experts in accents. But they always knew the second I spoke. They knew I was from North America. One man said 'not American, must be Canadian'.
I found immitating a Dutch accent to be incredibly difficult. The pronunciation and grammar weren't a problem. But the accent was what troubled me.
fraz   Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:14 am GMT
<<As well Dutch people told me I spoke with a 'funny accent' and then wouldn't speak Dutch to me>>

Yet imagine if we refused to speak English to them because of their accent. If I was you I would say (in Dutch) we are in the Netherlands and here we speak Dutch. Leave the next move up to them.