Are people impressed by your knowledge of languages?

3.14   Sat Apr 24, 2010 12:38 am GMT
Or maybe they're impressed by some specific language that you know?
.   Sat Apr 24, 2010 12:42 am GMT
I'm impressed by people's knowledge of my own language (English) never mind other languages. I envy their education.
Gate-crasher   Sat Apr 24, 2010 1:48 am GMT
Native speakers are always impressed by my command of English, especially when I tell them I was self-taught. And yes, I like to brag about it.
Asking Abe   Sat Apr 24, 2010 1:52 am GMT
Self-taught? How?
Dutchman   Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:33 am GMT
I am Dutch and I try to get a perfect English accent to sound as American as possible. However, it still sounds bad and rather spineless and the natives don't get impressed by it. They say I sound like a "try hard" and a "suck up", and that I shouldn't be so obsessed with improving my accent. But what can I say? I'm Dutch. I'm spineless. I will go to the ends of the earth to erase my Dutchness.

My accent is very similar to this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BpU0NxPhA78
American and Gaijin   Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:46 pm GMT
Sometimes people are surprised that I speak other languages, but I don't know if they are IMPRESSED...lol.

After all, a lot of people in the world speak other languages. It shouldn't be surprising just because I'm American.
Baldewin   Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:50 pm GMT
Among the older generations you also have Flemish who suck up to French culture. Nowadays they're becoming rarer. Sadly, the Anglophiles are increasing. I also see a growing movement of Dutch who are opposed to the self-hating mentality and the exaggerated Anglophilia (and Germanophobia for some reason). You might find it weird: but Dutch actually are more proud of their language than Flemish are. You go imagine. It just doesn't look like that from the outside.