Is this grammatically correct?

Thank You   Thu May 13, 2010 8:17 am GMT
Is it grammatically correct to say 'This is my first time to write you a letter'?

I feel that something is not right in the sentence but I can't explain it. Can anyone help to clarify it for me?

I would say 'This is the first time I write you a letter'.

Thanks in advance.
Beached Whale   Thu May 13, 2010 11:04 pm GMT
Instead of "This is my first time to write you a letter", use "This is my first time writing you a letter" or, "This is my first time writing a letter to you" or probably best, "This is the first time I've written you a letter." Or you could rephrase it as "I've never written you a letter before, but..."

i think "This is the first time I write you a letter" is technically grammatically correct, but it sounds weird.
Thank You   Fri May 14, 2010 12:05 am GMT
Thanks Beached Whale. That's a great help.
Another Guest   Fri May 14, 2010 3:50 am GMT
Technically, it should be "written a letter to you" instead of "written you a letter", but it's commonly accepted in English to write [verb] [indirect object] [direct object] instead of [verb] [direct object] [preposition] [indirect object]. Other than that, I agree with Beached Whale's ranking. There definitely is something odd about "first time to write", but "first time I write" is even worse.
???   Fri May 14, 2010 11:40 am GMT
>>Technically, it should be "written a letter to you" instead of "written you a letter", but it's commonly accepted in English to write [verb] [indirect object] [direct object] instead of [verb] [direct object] [preposition] [indirect object]. <<

Why? I've never heard anything about only the verb, direct onject, prep, ind object sequence being right.
Thank You   Fri May 14, 2010 3:13 pm GMT
Thanks guys for the explanations. You guys are very helpful.

--------------------------------------------------------

I just looked up the word 'write' in two dictionaries.

Cambridge says: