California Vowel Shift

April   Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:25 pm GMT
Okay. So I'm from California (Southern California Native to be exact. Near San Diego.)

On this forum, a lot of people have brought up the California Vowel Shift. I don't know if this has been answered already, if so, lead the way!

What IS the California Vowel Shift?
Lazar   Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:54 pm GMT
I'm not an expert on this (Kirk would know much more about it than I do), but it's a shift of vowels currently occurring in California, including, I believe, changes like [A]-->[O], [{]-->[a], [E]-->[{], [I]-->[E], and [u]-->[M]/[1]. I've gotten the impression that the extent of the merger can vary considerably from speaker to speaker, with the most progressive form being commonly referred to as the "Valley Girl accent".
April   Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:02 pm GMT
Can I have an example? Using words or sentences?
Lazar   Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:11 pm GMT
Well, I guess an approximation of those changes in pseudo-phonetic English orthography might be:

mom > mawm
that > thaht
bet > bat
bit > bet
cool > kewl

But to convey accurate phonetic information, you really need to use X-SAMPA ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X-SAMPA ) or IPA ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPA ). My previous post used X-SAMPA.
Mxsmanic   Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:11 pm GMT
Vowel shifts are tiny changes in pronunciation that linguists like to look for and document. They often are not noticeable to normal people.

For the rest of the world, people from SoCal sound like Americans from just about any other part of the U.S.; that is, they speak a standard English that isn't particularly distinctive. The only noticeable accents in the U.S. are in the South and a few small areas such as New York City.
Lazar   Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:20 pm GMT
<<Vowel shifts are tiny changes in pronunciation that linguists like to look for and document.>>