I need advice

zoe   Sun May 21, 2006 11:14 pm GMT
I'm going to be starting my first year of college next year, and I'm wondering which language I should study. I studied Mandarin for 4 years in middle school/high school because my Mother is Chinese, but I didn't like it very much. I spent my junior year in high school studying in Italy, learning Latin and Italian and living with an Italian host family. I got nowhere near fluency, but gained a basic understanding of the grammar and vocabulary. This is my senior year in high school and I'm studying Spanish. I like it well enough, though I feel more of an affinity for Italian culture since half my family is Sicilian.
I really love ballet and French film, and I've always wanted to take French. I seem to have a little trouble with the pronunciation of French words. I want to attain some level of fluency in whichever language I choose. I guess I'm mainly trying to decide between French and Italian.
I would greatly appreciate whatever opinions anybody has on the subject!
da   Sun May 21, 2006 11:46 pm GMT
You should learn Swedish.
zoe   Mon May 22, 2006 12:43 am GMT
I don't think Swedish is an option at the college I'm planning to attend. But my friend from Finland speaks some Swedish and it sounds very musical. :)
CHINESE   Mon May 22, 2006 2:28 am GMT
如果你的法語發音不是太好,建議你學習發音明朗的意大利語。我是這樣認爲的。

If you couldn't speak French by rule and line, then you can learn Italian.
Serbo-Canadian in China   Mon May 22, 2006 6:49 am GMT
French is by far a more important language than Italian -- but not half as important as Spanish -- but Italian is definitely easier to learn, easier to pronounce for most sepakers, and a very musical language.

Now ballet is of course not singing, but a personal affinity to music, plus the family history reasons may prompt you to go for Italian, even though there is of course also French ballet.