Mike - The Sample

Deborah   Fri Aug 19, 2005 8:56 pm GMT
Mike, I wouldn't mistake you for an American (it's pretty hard to sound like a native), but it's obvious that the accent you learned (or the accent you're striving for at this point) is American.
Mike   Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:22 pm GMT
Thank you so much, Deborah!

Yeah, you're right ... it's hard to sound like a native, many people think it's impossible. yeah, there are people who sound more like natives, but sometimes they make mistakes and give them away ... it's pretty hard ...
Actually, I've not been to the USA, and i've been learning phonetics and the american accent for 3-4 months ...
But I'm gonna work on it, because I believe everything's possible ...

btw, where are you from?
Deborah   Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:31 am GMT
Mike, I'm from San Francisco. I grew up here and have lived here most of my life. I went to college in North Carolina and spent 8 years of my adult life in New York City. Where in the US have you been? And which part of Russia are you from? I've been to Moscow, St. Petersburg, Novgorod, several cities of the Golden Ring, Pushkinske Gori and Mihkailovskoye. Oh, and Tbilisi -- I was there when it was part of the Soviet Union.
Mike   Sat Aug 20, 2005 10:29 am GMT
No, I have NOT been to the USA ( I wrote "I've not been ...").

I live in Siberia, I grew up here and have lived here for all my life ... I'm a student, I study linguistics ... so, English is my fave language (i prefer American, but in my uni we study British). I'm planning to vist the USA next year!!!
Candy   Sat Aug 20, 2005 11:39 am GMT
Hi Mike,
Congrats on your excellent English!!
Can I just ask why you prefer American English? (That's not a criticism, but a genuine question!) Do you really find a big difference between US and UK English? What about other varieties, eg Australian, Irish, South African English?
You haven't been to the US, but have you visited another English-speaking country?
Mike   Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:13 pm GMT