what can i do to sound californian?

guy   Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:15 pm GMT
Hi people,

I'm an ESL student and I'm studying English phonetics to improve my pronunciation. Now I want to sound like californians (or any west coast accent) because I'm planning to stay there for some time. Is there any things that I have to be careful of when trying to speak with this accent?

There are some points I usually pay attention to;

1. merging /O/ and /A/
2. merging /ur/ with either /Or/ or /3`/
3. barely rounded /u/ and /o/
4. monophthongal /e/ and /o/

Is there any other points where General American differs from the Californian accent or any thoughts about the things mentioned above?

Thanks in advance.
Kirk   Sun Aug 14, 2005 10:20 pm GMT
<<There are some points I usually pay attention to;

1. merging /O/ and /A/
2. merging /ur/ with either /Or/ or /3`/
3. barely rounded /u/ and /o/
4. monophthongal /e/ and /o/

Is there any other points where General American differs from the Californian accent or any thoughts about the things mentioned above? >>

Looks like you already know some of the features! Also, for #3, /u/ is quite fronted as well as barely rounded. /o/ is mid-back (not usually as fronted as /u/ is)

About #4, one thing I've noticed in my speech (I'm Californian) and others here is that, as you mentioned, /e/ and /o/ are indeed monophthongal in closed position but may be slightly diphthongal in open position. Thus, "bait" and "boat" are always monophthongs as I say them, but "bay" and "low" may be either monophthongal or slightly diphthongal. This has also been applied to /u/, which I may produce as a diphthong in open position as well (generally its initial point is centralized or fronted...in between /@/ and /I/ and then followed by my fronted unrounded /u/).