What languages would you like to learn?

Aldvs   Thu Sep 14, 2006 3:49 pm GMT
<<So you're saying that if I learned Japanese right now, I would sound like a native in adulthood?>>

No, if you were 5 years old now and somebody teaches you Japanese possibly you would speak like a native Japanese in the future. But you are not late to achieve a good level if you start now being a teenager since it's supposed that human being loses his skills to learn while he is getting older.
LAA   Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:03 pm GMT
Why yes, as a youth, my brain is sharp(er) than it would be at say, age 50. But, I certainly can't pick up a new language like Japanese as easy as I could as a small child. But, yes, I understand what you are saying.
Presley.   Sun Sep 17, 2006 4:51 am GMT
I'd like to learn how to speak Mandarin. It'll become useful in the future.

Also, I'd like to learn Italian formally. I speak Spanish fluently, and though I'm not fluent in French, I've been learning it in school for six years, so I can communicate with Italians relatively well.

About accents, I learned to speak English relatively late in my life and I've only spoken it for five~six years, but people think I was born and raised in the United States. I have almost no accent whatsoever. I have a very strong belief that shedding my Japanese identity was the main reason for this.

And Latin-Anglo-American, I strongly suggest you learn Japanese. You should have a fairly easy time with pronounciation 'cause you speak Spanish.
Benjamin   Sun Sep 17, 2006 8:30 am GMT
« I went through a phase a couple of years ago when I was really interested in Japanese culture and history. »

I think everyone has, lol. ;)
Geoff_One   Sun Sep 17, 2006 9:15 am GMT
In addition to those that I am already studying - German, Korean, Arabic, Australian Aboriginal languages, a Slavic Language, plus many others.
LAA   Sun Sep 17, 2006 7:47 pm GMT