Make up your opinion about this, please.

Selcuk   Sat Dec 16, 2006 2:40 pm GMT
I'm a Turkish student and will get my undergraduate education next year on languages.If I stay in Turkey, I'll learn only English-Turkish interpretation.But if I go to Russia, to Belgorod actually, I'll learn English-Russian interpretation although I'll learn the two at the same time as they are not actually my native ones.Which one would you recommend me to do?Go Russia and learn the two (Russian-English) or stay in Turkey and learn only English.Russian is getting incredibly and increasingly important in Turkey as every year 2 million of Russians come to spend their summer seaside cities such as Izmir, Antalya, Mugla...
Ikasi   Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:18 pm GMT
If you go to russia i recommend you to learn russian because the russian can know english or turquish but If you learn the vernacular language of the country or you will go, you will be familiarized and likened certainly much more quickly in local people, you will know a language and that it is a very important experience, In more, Russian account 200000000 of speakers, and it is a part of the big Slavic family, so you will have besides opened supplementary doors in the Slavic world (Bulgarian, Polish, Croatian, Serbian, Ukrainian...)
Calliope   Sat Dec 16, 2006 9:34 pm GMT
I would advise you to do the English-Turkish one (your native language). I have also had my masters degree in interpreting, and from what I gathered, it is very rare that you will be called to interpret between two foreign languages professionally. Usually you will be asked to interpret into your native language, and in some occasions from your native language into a foreign one.