English accents... lets see...

lina   Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:03 pm GMT
Ok, I'm currently studying acting here in the U.S. One of the things I have to really dominate in order to get my degree are accents. You know, southern-american accent, british accent, boston and new yorkers accents, australian accent, canadian accent... For me, everyting that has to do with languages and accents is really easy, but I seem to have a bit of a problem with the bostonian, new yorker, and canadian accents... I mean, those are a little bit more sutile (I guess...) Could someone explain me how people who live in those three places speak? (by meaning the proper differences in pronunciation that makes them an accent of the English language) Thank you all in advance!!
Lazar   Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:56 pm GMT
(Btw, do you know IPA or X-SAMPA? Because I find them very useful for learning about accents. Regardless...)

Okay, Boston, New York, and Canadian. I'll make three posts, one describing what I know of each accent. (I live in Massachusetts, so the accent that I know best is the Boston one.) Here goes... ;-)

BOSTON:

This accent is non-rhotic, meaning that when "r" comes at the end of a syllable, it's not pronounced. In this respect, it's similar to most accents from England. So,

- "car" is ["ka:]
- "core" is ["kO@]
- "better" is ["bE4@]
- "care" is ["kE@]
- "near" is ["nI@]
- "pure" is ["pjU@]

Words like "turn" are an exception; they're usually pronounced with a rhotic [3`] sound, like in General American.

~~~

Boston has a unique vowel system. Word-pairs like "father~bother" do *not* rhyme, but word pairs like "cot~caught" do rhyme.

"Father" uses the same vowel as "car". This vowel is [a:]. This vowel is fronted compared to most American dialects (meaning it sounds a little closer to the "a" in "cat"); it is the exact same vowel found in Spanish "taza" or Italian "faccia".

"Bother" and "cot" both use an open rounded vowel, [Q:]. This sounds similar to the vowel in RP "hot".