this is URGENT... ANSWERS

Tiffany   Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:25 am GMT
Hey,

I have been learning English for about 6 years at school.
I made 583 in TOEFL and 6.5 in IELTS and got a scholarship to the US.
This is where my real story begins.
Now, I’m in the US.
I’ve been here for 2 months.
And it's just killing me that neither my English nor my accent has improved yet.
In each conversation I make with people, it's one of two cases. I don't understand them completely or after every sentence I throw they would say "sorry, what’s that".
And when I say “each conversation” I mean it literally.
I’m so frustrated and embarrassed from me.
I have been in this forum for about 4 years.
It's the only place that will give me the right answer.
Is it ok to face a problem like this where you can't understand "them" and they can't understand “you” at all. – It’s been 2 months-!!
Is there any SOLUTION?

Story ends.

Sorry guys for bothering you with this…

Thank you.
Uriel   Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:52 am GMT
Hang in there, Tiffany! Two months is a very short time!

You write like a native -- I didn't even know that you weren't one! -- so you have a strong basis for improving your skills. Spoken languages are ALWAYS harder to understand than the written counterparts; it just takes practice to tune your ears and modify your own accent.

It's natural to feel embarrassed -- in another language everyone feels like they just went from an intelligent adult to a two-year-old with a speech impediment, and nobody enjoys THAT sensation...

There must be someone you can get to hang out with you and talk to you so that you can practice, practice, practice -- a friend, a coworker, a study-group partner, something. Join a club or a small group -- shared interests will get people talking with you, and the setting will be smaller, informal, and less stressful for you than a classroom or a store. Give it a while longer -- you will be amazed at how quickly you improve.