do U think EN needs more words?

Leena   Sun Feb 11, 2007 1:59 pm GMT
To 2992:

I have no knowledge or Romanian language. Are you talking about someone "longing" for the other? We have a Finnish verb "kaivata" for that use.

Minä kaipaan sinua. = I miss you.
Eric   Sun Feb 11, 2007 4:02 pm GMT
It can't hurt a language to have more vocabulary, but it's not like English is doing poorly in this departement.
Benjamin   Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:20 pm GMT
« my friends here... thanks for those descriptions for "to miss", but I wasn't asking about the meaning and how to use "miss"...Just please read carefuly: I was asking if there is a specific word to have same meaning like "dor/ a duce dorul cuiva (nu a duce dorul dupa ceva... care e echivalent cu "missing")" in english. »

Yes, there is. The verb is 'to miss'. You say 'I miss you', 'he misses his mother', 'I will miss them' etc.
Valeria   Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:54 pm GMT
Every language needs more words.But every language creats its words regarding the needs of the people of the nation.For instance, in Vietnamese there are 100 different words for kinds of "rice" while Eskimos use many words over 25 for the word "snow" in English.
2992   Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:32 am GMT
probably "longing" is very near. However, isn't only this word I'm taking about. There are many other words as well (I'm not saying extremely alot of them). I was trying to find out if somebody else also knows these kind of single word in oone language which doesn't have a single word equivalent in EN. And going forward, considering those words, if EN needs some more words or not. I'm not a proffesional in languages, but I hava the feeling that EN needs some more words in everyday usage. I mean, there are too many single-words like "missing" which are used to express soo many different things/actions/etcetc...
-------------
"I hate spam" - yeah, sure...
Benjamin   Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:17 am GMT
« probably "longing" is very near. »