Choosing a Scandinavian Language

Skippy   Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:33 am GMT
Howdy ya'll...I've been studying German for nearly three years now and I like to think I've been doing pretty well... I was considering trying to teach myself a Scandinavian language. I have read that Norwegian has the greatest mutual intelligibility with at least Swedish and Danish. However, I understand Danish and Swedish have more speakers and may even be easier for English speakers...

What do ya'll think?

Or should I just forget it and start learning Dutch or Japanese or something? lol
Franco   Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:45 am GMT
Japanese or something.
superdavid   Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:14 am GMT
For Europeans, Japanese is not easy to learn for the following reasons:

1. Japanese grammar is totally different from European language.

2. Japanese characters are very complicated and confusing.

3. It is not easy to pronounce Japanese words correctly.

So wake up and smell the coffee
Guest   Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:33 am GMT
Coffee...where's the sake?
ZhongGuoRen   Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:51 am GMT
If you've ever bought any Japanese electronic products,you could find out that there're generally 3 or 4 langauges at least in the instructions, such as English、French、German、Spanish、and sometimes,even Italian、Portuguese、as well as Russian。You could just read the instruction in your native langauge without any obstacles,after you took your favourites home,such as PS2、TV、Camera、Walkman、or Sound System。
Guest   Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:58 am GMT
<<For Europeans, Japanese is not easy to learn for the following reasons:

1. Japanese grammar is totally different from European language.

2. Japanese characters are very complicated and confusing.

3. It is not easy to pronounce Japanese words correctly.

So wake up and smell the coffee>>