English is an easy language but ...

JLK   Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:14 am GMT
To !:

1.) The pronunciation is more chaotic than languages like french? LOL

2.) When properly spoken, English is one of the most pleasant sounding languages in the world. Other than french and italian, it is unrivaled in my oppinion. I don't understand how could say german is prettier! Mind you, this is comming from someone who is very fond of the german language. I like german because of its harsh qualities...As far as contributions to literature, you are bloody mad. No other language has made such a contribution to literature.

3.) English is the most modern and developed language in the world. Considering that the english speaking world dominates in every area of science, economics and politics I couldn't think of a better language to express "complex circumstances".

To foreign English student: Yes, italian does dominate in musical terminology. However as a violinist and pianist, I can tell you French and German terminology is very common, particularly in romantic era music. As for your statement regarding the language of art, architecture and literature, you obviously don't know that much about those three areas.
buttholesurfer   Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:44 am GMT
1.) Ass

2.) Cock

3.) Balls

But on a serious note:

FUCK!!
Anti-Snobism   Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:11 am GMT
<<1.) The pronunciation is more chaotic than languages like french? LOL>>

Bien plus que tu pourrais le croire, mon pote!
L'anglais a une infinité de diphtongues, de règles à la con, ex: "read" en fonction de la sonorité n'a pas la même valeur dans le temps, know et now, sont souvent confondus.
Le français emploi peu de diphtongues, et contrairement à ce que certains disent le français a bien plus de similarités dans la sonorité avec l'italien ou encore l'espagnol... Il y a juste les voyelles nasales comme au portugais, rendant la prononciation plus rapide, quelques sons comme le /y/, /ə/...
------------------