My Accent

What's in a name?   Sat May 12, 2007 4:26 am GMT
People say my accent is really bad. Can somebody tell me what exactly I should work on?
Also, can you guess my native language? :)

http://media.putfile.com/my-accent-28
Guest   Sat May 12, 2007 5:52 am GMT
The audio quality of your recording isn't so good; your voice kept going in and out. But from what I could hear, your accent and cadence sounded Filipino.

Your accent really wasn't that bad. I understood you perfectly. What should you work on? Well, first of all, what is your goal? To sound like a native American English speaker?

Since I'm not a phonetics expert, I'll leave it the regulars on this forum to advise you, but the main things I noticed about your recording is a) absense or near absense of schwa b) incomplete rounding of vowels; c) [f] instead of [v] in 'leave' (which sounded like 'lif'); d) [s] instead of [z] in 'years'; e) the rhythm of your reading was a little off, a bit too staccato.
Guest   Sat May 12, 2007 5:53 am GMT
<<recording is>>

correction: recording *are*
What's in a name?   Fri May 25, 2007 3:30 am GMT
Thanks for your suggestions.
Yes, my goal is to speak more like a native American, and no, I'm not Filipino.
Here's another voice clip (though it still lacks the quality):
http://media.putfile.com/sonnet-29
Gabriel   Fri May 25, 2007 4:20 am GMT
I think it's very good. A few of the departures from a more or less general American accent I could find were:

sonnet ["san@t] instead of ["sAn@t] (regional in the US)
nine [nain] with a close second element
eyes [aIs] instead of [aIz]
the /l/ in "all alone" could be darker
featured sounded like ["viSr\d] to me
man [m@n] instead of [m{n] (perhaps an over reaction to a previous comment??)
in these thoughts -> dental plosives instead of [D] and [T] (this happens in a couple of other places, again this is regional in the US)
it seems you have [INg] in "arising"
Kess   Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:31 am GMT