What accent is this?

Confused   Sun May 13, 2007 8:28 pm GMT
Julian   Sun May 13, 2007 10:16 pm GMT
I'm not an accent expert, but as I can judge, it defenitely sounds American, though I couldn't mention any location...
Julian   Sun May 13, 2007 10:18 pm GMT
*definitely* sorry for the typing error....
Confused   Sun May 13, 2007 10:34 pm GMT
Thanks. I was wondering which regional accent it is.
Sarcastic Northwesterner   Sun May 13, 2007 10:56 pm GMT
Hmm. I'm not quite sure. But I'm guessing somewhere in the Midwest, because cot and caught were unmerged. I also heard sari and tomahrow. M-m-m merger too.
Sarcastic Northwesterner   Sun May 13, 2007 11:08 pm GMT
Actually I might change my guess. It sounds a little different. I had just listened to the word list before.
Josh Lalonde   Mon May 14, 2007 1:14 am GMT
I was thinking Virginia. That's more of a guess though.
Guy   Mon May 14, 2007 9:34 am GMT
She sounds like she's a non-rhotic speaker from the UK trying to put on an American accent... hmm, but I'm not too sure.
AnnieJP   Mon May 14, 2007 9:56 am GMT
Sarcastic Northwesterner, I thought she was Midwestern as well or maybe east of it. She's got some strange speech patterns.

"She sounds like she's a non-rhotic speaker from the UK trying to put on an American accent... hmm, but I'm not too sure."

Yes, a lot of people have claimed she sounds English. She almost sounds non-rhotic and I mistook her for being English at one point. Even now, I think it sounds a bit like English-accented American English but I already know she's not. Actually, I already know where she's from but upon learning where it was, I was a bit surprised because I didn't think she sounded like from the region where she lives in. Now I'm very confused and I'm wondering what others think. :/
Shatnerian   Mon May 14, 2007 11:34 am GMT