Bilingual vs. Monolingual Dictionaries

windy city   Wed May 30, 2007 3:23 pm GMT
The Antimoon folks are very big on using monolingual dictionaries. I've found them difficult to use for the languages I've studied. By the time I try to figure out the meaning, I could have gotten a quick idea from a bilingual dictionary.

What is your experience with both types of dictionaries? (With any languages you've studied, and at any level you're at with the language.)
Guest   Wed May 30, 2007 3:43 pm GMT
monolingual dictionaries. Collins, Cambridge, both paper and software for my learning English. It was difficult to understand a definition in my target language(when I was a beginner) but with getting enough input I was able to understand definitions in the long run. I showed a lot of patience on my part. I did not give up using a monolingual dictionary. After that, there was no looking back. There is no more difference between using a bilingual and a monolingual dictionary(atleast for me) for checking a quick meaning of a word. I feel like I am immersed in the language though I have never visited any native speaking country yet.

By using a monolingual dictionary, I was naturally able to pick up the most frequent structures of the language that lexicographers use them to explain definitions for various words.

There are no hard and fast rules on using either type because you pick up the understanding of a word from the real context. So go for any one. In my personal opinion, I'd go for monolingual dictionaries because I would have a chance to read more words and phrases in the target language that way. Different strokes for different people, using "which type is better" is a subjective thing.
furrykef   Thu May 31, 2007 12:32 am GMT