Why English pronunciation is so irregular? Why no reform?

Guest   Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:39 am GMT
Compared to Spanish, Italian and German it's a real mess. It seems to have thousands of special rules for every letter to pronounce it differently.
for example: the "a" in car and care, the "o" in women and woman, the "gh" in ghost and tough.

Why there never was any kind of spelling reform, like in other countries, to make spelling and pronunciation more consistent and logical?
Liz   Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:55 am GMT
No, pronunciation isn't irregular at all. It's the spelling what's irregular.
Guest   Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:57 am GMT
Compared to Spanish, Italian and German it's a real mess.

compared with ANY OTHER language
Liz   Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:02 am GMT
Yes, it is -- only because of the ortography.
Guest   Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:13 am GMT
I'm a student of English and even though spelling and pronunciation is difficult in this language I think this "illogical" spelling is its fascination.
It's the "characteristic" of English and people is accustomed to it by this time.
Any reform can't be done because natives and non-natives speakers can't learn again another spelling by now!
I hope there won't be any reform changing the spelling, first because it's not the same thing writing "maus" instead of mouse or ska.i instead of sky, you have to change your mind completely concerning the approach to the language.
Second I think a reform can't be done considering the consequences in spelling. There is the possibility it won't semplify anything but only replace a spelling with another illogical one or even worse. Especially considering homophones etc.
We can't write "fail" instead of FILE because fail has another meaning in English, or "live" instead of LEAVE and these are just two examples among hundreds of words.
Shatnerian   Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:21 am GMT