Anyone studying Chinese/Japanese?

superdavid   Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:41 am GMT
How do you memorize those thousands of complicated characters?
Not only are they complicated but also lots of characters look so similar!

Are there any effective ways to memorize them?
furrykef   Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:54 am GMT
Yeah, I'm studying Japanese. There's a book called Remembering the Kanji by James W. Heisig. I recommend giving it a shot with Volume 1, which deals with memorizing the characters themselves but not their pronunciations or the contexts you use the characters in. It sounds like a silly way of doing things, but I do believe it is more effective than learning the characters in context, and it's REALLY effective in helping you distinguish similar characters. I recommend using Remembering the Kanji volume 1 in conjunction with SuperMemo. That's what I'm doing. It's a little time-consuming, but it's certainly less time-consuming in the long run than most other methods of learning kanji.

That book is tailored to Japanese and not Chinese, though. Unfortunately, as far as I know, there is still no equivalent designed for use in learning Chinese.

- Kef
L'italofilo   Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:00 am GMT
Mandarin Chinese is not that difficult, especially simplified characters.

simplified characters: 中华 汉语 普通话 记忆 复杂

traditional characters: 中華 漢語 普通話 記憶 複雜

But I prefer traditional characters, because it's more reasonable than constrained simplified characters in terms of word-formation.
L'italofilo   Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:18 am GMT
For example, here's an illustration to explain the irrationality of simplified character, in standard Chinese, 麵 only means "noodle", and 面 only means "face", but after fantastic simplification, these 2 different meanings coalesced into one character 面,in fact, there're also so many incorrect simplification methods and some common frameworks have something wrong too.
L'italofilo   Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:20 am GMT
Can simple character understanders read traditional?