Simple vs Traditional Characters of Chinese

Franco   Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:05 am GMT
Can understanders of simple Chinese characters not understand Traditional ones? Is it easy for Traditional understanders to read simple characters? Do Traditional character users look on Simple Character users as inferiors or, even, uneducated?
furrykef   Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:58 pm GMT
They're "Simplified", not "Simple". ;)

To answer the question, there is some extent to which traditional characters are hard to read if you only know simplified characters. There are no doubt some traditional characters that many people who normally use simplified characters know. For instance, I would bet that the character 龍 (dragon) would be recognized by users of Chinese characters everywhere, even though the official Simplified form of the character is 龙 and the Japanese form is 竜. Heck, even I know the Traditional form even though I'm only studying Japanese.

There are also patterns in the Chinese simplifications that make things easier. For instance, some radicals always get simplified to the same shapes. Compare the left parts of these: 語 and 语. The 言 part always gets simplified to that shape when it occurs on the left. Once you're aware of the pattern, it's not a great leap to assume that these are the same character, especially if the context allows it.

But there are many non-obvious simplifications, and the two characters may be mutually unintelligible. Sometimes two hanzi are simplified into the same hanzi. When you see the original hanzi, then, you may be unable to distinguish them if you can recognize them at all. You can see that they're different, obviously, but you're not sure which has what meaning.