Spoken English to Non English Medium Students

S.Singaravelu   Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:46 am GMT
I have been teaching Spoken English since 1976.My method of teaching differed from others.Of late I have prepared lessons in Power Point,Flash programmes.It needs just one week for the students to pick up the concept of basics.It is very simple and I have covered all topics in grammar.I take the students to nine Houses.

Yellow House 1 and 2 -- To tell about status not actions.

Blue Houses 1,2,3&4 -- To tell about simple,continuous,perfect and perfect continuous actions of persons/objects.

Pink Houses 1,2&3 -- To tell about simple,continuous and perfect actions on persons/objects.

Are you ready to visit all nine Houses?
Guest   Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:00 am GMT
Knowing such sentences are not enough. You need to master connecting words as well like because, so, so that, in contrast, etc Also, lots and lots of vocabulary words. No way will I be able to speak like a good speaker if I only have such basics at my disposal to begin with. It takes years and years of constant learning that will make me a fluent speaker in any form of the language. Nope. I am not ready to visit those nine houses instead I'd like to read something easier with an aid of dictionary. Don't take it personally, all of this grammar-based learning gives a false impression for students on the short term basis but in the long term they'll struggle to put string a decent sentence in a real-life situation (if this is what they have at their disposal.)
Guest   Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:01 am GMT
*Knowing such sentences IS not enough.
S.Singaravelu   Sat Sep 22, 2007 2:16 am GMT
Dear Guest,

"Failure is only a bend on a road not an end of a journey" I take you by air where there is no bend but surely an end is there.

Look at the Yellow House 1 sentnces;

I am a doctor. 1

I am not a doctor. 2

Am I a doctor? 3

Am I not a doctor? 4

What Am I? 5

What Am I not? 6

Question 3 has answers in 1&2

"Am I a doctor?' 3