Contrasting Korean and Japanese grammar

edo   Fri Oct 12, 2007 5:26 pm GMT
I studied Japanese a number of years ago. There were a lot of Korean kids in the class. I asked one if she could help me learn Korean. She used our Japanese text, translated the dialogues, and recorded them: WORD-FOR-WORD from the Japanese. I don't know about the fine points, but the basic grammar seemed awfully similar.
guest   Fri Oct 12, 2007 5:54 pm GMT
<<Native Korean, can you think of an example offhand where Korean carries a sound between two separate words? >>

Okay, I've had lunch and can think better now...

I know that in compond words (noun + noun; and adjective + noun) the carryover is present as in 'gochhuss garu' (pronounced "gochhukk-garu" {red-pepper paste}) and 'kojiss mal' (pronounced "kojim-mal" {lie, lit. 'false word/saying/speech'}) so yes, it does.
furrykef   Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:28 pm GMT
Hmm, the two languages really are that similar grammatically? That's really odd... right now it sounds to me that Japanese and Korean are more grammatically similar than English and Spanish! Yet, English and Spanish are demonstrably related, if distantly, while Japanese and Korean are not.
Native Korean   Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:18 am GMT
<That's really odd... right now it sounds to me that Japanese and Korean are more grammatically similar than English and Spanish!>

Yes. From my understanding, Korean and Japanese are much more grammatically similar than English and Spanish or even English and German.

<Yet, English and Spanish are demonstrably related, if distantly, while Japanese and Korean are not.>

I thinks this is because both languages' basic words(core vocabulary) are little in common. If the two languages are related, their basic words should sound very similar.
For example, (English/German) I/Ich; come/kommen; house/haus; hand/hand; mother/mutter etc.
(Korean/Japanese) na/watashi; oda/kuru; jib/ie; son/te; eomma/okkasan etc.
Guest   Sat Oct 13, 2007 11:55 am GMT