Finnish defies your prejudices

Svetlana   Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:00 pm GMT
I read your forum and I saw many people who say that one language is better than another (I won't mention any names but you know which I'm talking about) because it has a growing number of native speakers. Well I am a student in St. Petersburg, and many people here like and study Suomi. Some people even choose it instead of English and German. And Suomi, as you might know, has only 6 million speakers in the world

Ymmärrättekö suomea? ;)
Franco   Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:10 pm GMT
Кто же бы учился финскому языку? Какая потеря времени! Может быть, вы пьете слишком много водки! Все знают, что финский язык скоро исчезнет с лица мира, потому что некие страны собираются свалить в Финляндию свои ядерные остатки.

Ну, хорошо, если ты хочешь заниматься финским именно по этой причине - ты будешь одним из уникальных людей на свете, кто все еще говорит на нем!
Svetlana   Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:18 pm GMT
Дорогой Франко, в Финляндии высокий уровень жизни. Финляндия может быть маленькая, но рай это и есть рай, какого размеры он бы не был. К тому же это европейская страна, которую ещё не успели засрать иностранцы (ну кроме нас, русских ;) ).

Also, think about all the great music that came from that "insignificant country": Ville Valo, Rasmus, Levan Polkka ... :))
Herbist   Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:16 pm GMT
Thats very interesting, even if I understood only the English half;-) What are the reasons? Is it only the fact that Finnland is the neares neighbour of Petersburg area with non-communist history?
olaszinho   Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:18 pm GMT
Svetlana ja ljublju tebja. :-) Ty prava. Vce jazyki mogut byt' krasivye i interesnie Poka iz Italii
Guest   Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:56 pm GMT
Isn't Finnish immensly complex, or is that just one of the common prejudices?
K. T.   Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:45 pm GMT