Is this sentence grammatically correct?

W   Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:57 am GMT
I'm grading my students' English composition test right now and I found one answer seemed to be grammatically wrong!
So I deducted her points but she claims that her sentence is just less common expression - not grammatically incorrect.

Below is her sentence:
"In fact, the average child spends more than four hours in front of a screen each day, engaging in screen entertainment, substituing time that used to be spent for physical activity."

I personally think there should be an 'and' between 'entertainment' and substituiting'.
Also 'that used to be spent FOR physical activity' is what she wrote, but shouldn't it be 'spent ON physical activity'?

I'm just an undergrad student and grading high schoolers' test is my part time job (which means I'm not professional)!
So I might be wrong and her answer might be correct.

If you are a native speaker of English and quite confident in English grammar, please tell me if her answer is correct or not.

If you think her answer is grammatically incorrect, please explain why so that I can convince her.
Lazar   Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:01 am GMT
I agree with Josh.
Guest   Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:03 am GMT
The sentence also looks OK to me as is. I suppose "on physical activity" sounds a bit better than "for physical activity" to me.

Possibly, the 2nd comma should be omitted. I think that makes the "and" after entertainment less desirable. I think this sentence OK with and without the and.

Actually, I'd recommend:

"In fact, the average child spends more than four hours in front of a screen each day engaging in screen entertainment, time that used to be spent for physical activity."
Martin   Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:09 pm GMT
You substitute one thing for another and spend time on an activity.
What your student means is clear, but her way of expressing it is a little clumsy.